Each of Obesa's accommodation units has been decorated according to various themes that have captured Sonja's imagination and creativity. She clearly has lots of fun furnishing and painting units with names like Spring Breeze, La Med, Sundowner, Scented Summer and Tutti Frutti. It is this sense of enjoyment that Sonja hopes will spread to her guests.
In Room Facilities:
The self-catering units and rooms with en suite-bathrooms are tastefully furnished. Each cottage or room has its own private entrance
Comfortable Edblo beds with base sets.
Linen, towels and toiletries (soap, shampoo, shower cap) are provided - except beach towels
Flat screen TV's (Channels 1, 2, 3, E-TV and M-Net)
4 Rooms with air-cons (La Med, Sundowner, Spring Breeze and English Country)
Ceiling fans and wall heaters
Full English Breakfast at R65 per person served in the cottages/rooms between 07H15 and 09H00 - special diets on request
Cottages and Rooms are serviced daily
Safe at office
Cradled in a crook of the Sundays River and surrounded by the Camdeboo National Park lies GRAAFF-REINET with its unique old-world character - the town known as the "GEM OF THE KAROO".
Graaff-Reinet is named after Cornelis Jacob van de Graaf and his wife Cornelia Reynet and is the fourth oldest settlement in South Africa (after Cape Town, Stellenbosch and Swellendam). The town was established in 1786 and thus experienced four changes of supreme government - including the proclamation of the so-called "Republic of Graaff-Reinet".
This cheerful complex is surrounded by beautiful gardens, complete with free Wi-Fi on premises, swimming pool with a baby pool, swings for children, braai areas and safe off-street parking with remote controlled gates - creating a space inviting guests to relax and unwind.
One of the 12 most spectacular cactus and succulent gardens in the world, the Obesa Cactus and Succulent Garden, is situated opposite Obesa Lodge.
Reinet House: Once the home of Rev Andrew Murray and Charles Murray for over 80 years, it was completed in 1812 and fully restored in 1947, it opened up as a cultural history museum in 1956.
Military History Museum.
Old Library Museum.
The CAMDEBOO NATIONAL PARK, nestled in the horseshoe bend of the Sundays River and protected by the Sneeuberg mountains, is 19457 ha and virtually encloses Graaff-Reinet. The park includes the Valley of Desolation and the Nqweba Dam.
The VALLEY OF DESOLATION with its sheer cliffs and precariously balanced columns of dolerite which rise 120 metres from the valley floor, against the timeless backdrop of the vast plains of the Camdeboo is a magnificent and unforgettable site to see.